Houska, A Czech Christmas Bread

Well, it’s almost Christmas day and I’m finally blogging on my mother-in-law’s Houska recipe. I wanted to share this recipe earlier in the month but somehow December got away from me! This recipe is originally my husband’s great grandmother’s recipe, handed down to her daughter, then to her daughter, and now to me. My husband is part Czech and grew up eating this bread on Christmas morning. My in-laws send Houska to us every year.  I warm it up in the oven at 225 degrees F for 20 minutes and serve it with soft butter.  I was thrilled have this recipe because this is one of the most delicious breads I have ever had. It is sweet, soft, colorful, and just bursting with flavor. You can make it any day of the year if you wish. I’m going to make it for New Year’s. Enjoy!

HOUSKA     A Czech Christmas Bread

 By JoAnne Pappano                                                                                                                                                                                                     

INGREDIENTS

1 cake yeast (or 1 pack) + 3 TBSP warm milk + 1 TBSP sugar

1 cup scalded milk, let cool

4 cups all-purpose flour

½ tsp salt

2 eggs

¼ lb butter (1 stick), softened

½ cup sugar

1 tsp grated lemon rind

1/3 cup golden raisins

¼ cup blanched almonds, slivered

½ cup red glazed cherries, cut each cherry in 4-5 pieces

½ cup green glazed cherries, cut each cherry in 4-5 pieces

8 ounce can almond paste *

Egg yolk

PREPARATION

Original recipe from Grandma Ellie’s mother:

Dissolve yeast in 3 tablespoons warm milk and 1 tablespoon of sugar. Let foam. Add to cooled milk and beaten eggs.

In a separate bowl, mix butter, sugar, and 1/2 of the flour together. Add lemon rind and salt. Add yeast milk mixture and rest of flour. Knead for 20 minutes.

In another bowl, add the cherries, almonds, and raisins. Mix and divide in half for this recipe and thirds for recipe below.

Lightly oil a large bowl with canola oil. Place the dough in the bowl and turn once or twice to make sure the dough has a light coating of oil. Let rise until the dough has doubled in size.

Divide in half and add fruit and marzipan. To add the marzipan: take it out of the can and roll it with your hands into a long rope, place the marzipan on top of the loaf and fold dough over it. Put the loaves on a lightly greased cookie sheet and let rise until doubled. Brush with beaten egg yolk.   Bake at 325 degrees to 350 degrees. Check after 1/2 hour.   Makes 2 loaves.

*JoAnne’s notes:

I add about twice as much almond paste (1 and ½ cans). Cook it at 325 degrees and divide dough into thirds. Also check after 20 minutes. Often I will put the pan on the bottom of the oven (mine is gas, so it is flat) for about 5 minutes to slightly brown the bottom. Makes 3 loaves. My mother was taught this recipe from her mother.

One thought on “Houska, A Czech Christmas Bread

Leave a comment